NEEL Trimarans · Trimaran
NEEL 43
The NEEL 43 is a 12.90 m cruising trimaran built since 2021 by NEEL-TRIMARANS in La Rochelle, France, and the yard’s smallest sailing model; Marc Lombard Yacht Design Group drew the hulls, NEEL’s own design office the concept and interior. Like the larger NEEL models it has the owner’s cabin and the galley on deck level next to the saloon and cockpit, a guest cabin in the central hull and a double berth in the port float, with a single rudder and one Volvo Penta 50 hp saildrive. Besides the 3-cabin boat there was a PERFORMANCE limited edition of 10 boats with a carbon mast and Karver hardware (2023) and, from 2025, the 43 DUO with 2 cabins and a second bathroom; much of the equipment depends on the year and on the Premium or Performance pack ordered. Since April 2026, following a decision of the La Rochelle commercial court, a new management team runs the NEEL yard.
Manuals & documents
The links go to NEEL Trimarans’s own documents — some as archived copies of pages the maker has since taken down. We host no manuals or drawings.
- NEEL 43 model page with specifications (imperial units) Spec sheet neel-trimarans.com · EN · FR
- NEEL 43 DUO model page Spec sheet neel-trimarans.com · EN
- NEEL 43 brochure, printed September 2023 (French and English, specifications and deck plans) Brochure neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR · EN
- NEEL 43 brochure, printed February 2022, with the optional glass partition for the port float cabin (French and English) Brochure neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR · EN
- NEEL 43 launch brochure, 2020 (French and English) Brochure neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR · EN
- NEEL 43 DUO dealer brochure, January 2025 Brochure neel-trimarans.com · PDF · EN · FR
- NEEL 43 price list, April 2024: standard equipment, Premium and Performance packs and options, filled in as the quotation for hull no. 56 (French and English) Spec sheet neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR · EN
- NEEL 43 build sheet for hull no. 56 (template of October 2023, filled in early 2024), naming the makes of the options (French) Spec sheet neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR
- NEEL 43 hull no. 2 (2021): order definition with Premium pack and options (French) Spec sheet neel-trimarans.com · PDF · FR
- NEEL 43 PERFORMANCE limited edition: NEEL’s announcement of 2023 (archived page) Archived maker page web.archive.org · EN
Equipment & its manuals
Standard equipment as the builder’s documents list it. Boats were ordered with options and refitted since — check what is actually aboard.
| Item | Model | Manual / page | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engine | Volvo Penta 50 hp1,2,3All versions: one diesel with saildrive, standard (NEEL writes ‘Volvo Penta 50 CV’ or ‘Volvo 50 HP sail drive’) | — | NEEL never names the engine model. Volvo Penta’s 50 hp sailboat diesel of these years is the D2-50, so that is the likely engine, but the builder does not confirm it: read the engine plate before ordering filters, impellers or belts. |
| Saildrive | Volvo Penta4,5All versions: NEEL writes only ‘sail drive’ and never names the drive model | — | Read the plate on the drive leg (130S or 150S, for example) before ordering seals, anodes or a propeller. |
| Propeller | —2,5Folding propeller, make not named: in the standard description next to the engine and again in the Premium pack (2021 and 2024 documents) | — | |
| Windlass | 12 V2,5Premium pack (hull no. 2 of 2021, April 2024 list): electric windlass with foot switch, make not named | — | Option: windlass control and chain counter at the helm. The stainless anchor roller under the bowsprit is standard. |
| Anchor | Kobra 20 kg · Spade Alu 20 kg5,4,2Mooring kit of the Premium pack: a Kobra anchor on hull no. 2 (2021); the 2023/24 build sheet shows a Kobra 20 kg and a Spade aluminium 20 kg | — | With 60 m of chain and 50–60 m of rope. |
| Winches | Karver Extra Speed 46 × 3 · Extra Power 130 × 14,6,243 PERFORMANCE (2023) and Performance pack (2023/24 build sheet, April 2024 list): three manual Extra Speed 46 for genoa and spinnaker, one Extra Power 130 for the main halyard | — | NEEL does not name the make of the standard winches. Options on every boat: a powered winch in place of the outside manual winch for mainsheet, halyard and reefs (make not named) and a spinnaker deck kit with 2 more winches. |
| Furler | Karver KRS304,243 PERFORMANCE and Performance pack (2023–2024): Karver KRS30 genoa furler plus a Karver furler for the removable staysail | — | NEEL does not name the make of the standard genoa furler. The gennaker options come with a Karver furler on a removable stay; the ‘Performance rigging’ option without the pack has a stainless single-drum genoa furler. |
| Furler | Facnor4Removable-staysail option on the 2023/24 build sheet: Facnor furler drum, with a Wichard deck fitting for the removable stay | — | |
| Autopilot | B&G Triton25Hull no. 2 (2021): ‘B&G 2020’ electronics in the Premium pack | — | The same pack has a WS310 wind sensor, Triton2 displays for log, depth and wind, a waterproof DSC VHF and an NMEA 2000 AIS receiver. |
| Autopilot | B&G4Option on the build sheet updated on 31 October 2023 (hull no. 56, 2024): B&G pack with log, depth, wind and pilot, a B&G V60 VHF with AIS and a pilot control at the helm | — | The pilot model is not named. The same sheet offers a B&G H60 wireless VHF handset at the helm. |
| Autopilot | NKE Gyropilot 34,743 PERFORMANCE and Performance pack on the 2023/24 build sheet: NKE pack with remote, log, depth, wind, GPS, 12″ display, ICOM VHF, AIS transceiver and repeaters | — | |
| Autopilot | Garmin Reactor 402April 2024 list: Garmin pack, as option EL011 and as part of the Performance pack | Garmin Reactor 40 Parts & service page | The Garmin pack also has a DST810 log/depth/temperature sensor, a gWind sensor, a GPSMAP 1223 and GRID 20 at the helm, a GPSMAP 923 and a 5″ display at the chart table, a VHF 315i with AIS and Navionics charts. The electronics brand changes with the year and the pack, so check what is on board before ordering pilot or sensor parts. |
| Chartplotter | Garmin GPSMAP 1223 · GPSMAP 9232April 2024 list, Garmin pack: 12″ at the helm, 9″ at the chart table; options: GPSMAP 1223 or 1623 at the chart table instead | Garmin GPSMAP 723 / 923 / 1223 Parts & service page | |
| Chartplotter | B&G Zeus 3S4,5Options on the 2023/24 build sheet: 9″ or 12″ at the chart table and/or the helm; hull no. 2 (2021) had an optional 9″ outside screen, make not named | — | |
| Radar | B&G Halo 20+ · Garmin GMR Fantom 18x4,2Options: B&G Halo 20+ with mount on the 2023/24 build sheet, Garmin GMR Fantom 18x on the April 2024 list | — | |
| Generator | Fisher Panda 6.8 kVA4,2Option on the 2023/24 build sheet: 230 V / 50 Hz, supplied with a Quattro 3000 W / 80 A inverter-charger instead of the 2000 W unit | — | The April 2024 list only describes a 6/7 kW generator ‘as per supplier’ with a 3000 W / 120 A inverter-charger; 60 Hz boats for the US get a 6/7 kW 110 V generator with a Quattro 5000 W / 120 A. |
| Heater | Webasto4,2Forced-air heating, option on the 2023/24 build sheet | — | The April 2024 list offers forced-air heating for saloon, cabins and head without naming the make. |
| Air conditioning | Webasto × 34,2Option on the 2023/24 build sheet: three self-contained units for saloon, forward cabin and owner’s cabin | — | The April 2024 list offers reversible forced-air air conditioning for saloon, cabins and head (make not named) and says it requires the generator. |
| Watermaker | 12 V · 100 l/h2,5,4Option 2021–2024, make not named (105 l/h on the 2023/24 build sheet) | — | |
| Charger | 230 V / 12 V · 2000 W · 80 A2,4,5Premium pack on the April 2024 list: inverter-charger (‘Combi’), service and engine battery chargers, 230 V network with 6 outlets and a 25 m shore cable; hull no. 2 (2021): 230 V network with a 2000 W charger-inverter as an option | — | Option: a 3000 W / 120 A unit. The build sheet calls the units ‘Quattro’, Victron’s product name, but does not write the make. Solar option on the same sheet: two Solbian panels on the forward coachroof, 312 W in total. |
| Batteries | 3 × 12 V gel · Optima 12 V2,5Standard: service bank of three 12 V gel batteries (listed as 495 A) and one Optima 12 V engine start battery (50 A in 2024, 70 A on hull no. 2 in 2021) | — | The bow thruster of the Premium pack has its own battery and charger. |
| Bow thruster | 12 V2,5Premium pack (hull no. 2 of 2021, April 2024 list): with its own battery and charger, make not named | — | |
| Fridge | 130 l2,5Standard: drawer fridge/freezer, make not named (April 2024 list); hull no. 2 (2021): ‘refrigerator’, size not stated | — | |
| Stove | —2,5Standard 2021–2024: 2-burner gas hob and gas oven with grill, make not named | — | |
| Stove | ENO4,5Option (hull no. 2 in 2021, 2023/24 build sheet): gas plancha in the cockpit | — | The April 2024 list offers the cockpit plancha without naming the make. |
| Toilet | —2,8NEEL 43: one bathroom with toilet, washbasin and hot and cold shower · 43 DUO: two bathrooms; toilet make not named | — | The holding tank is part of the Premium pack. |
| Water pump | —2,4Standard: pressurised hot and cold fresh water, makes not named | — | Options: a second fresh-water pump on a 3-way valve and pressurised sea water with a deck-wash outlet in the cockpit; the Premium pack adds a hot and cold shower on the port float transom. |
| Water heater | 40 l / 60 l2,5Standard, make not named: 40 l in the French text of the 2021 and 2024 documents, 60 l in the English text of the April 2024 list | — | On 60 Hz boats the water heater runs on 110 V. |
| Steering | —9All versions: single rudder steered by Vectran lines over ball-bearing blocks, rudder stock in self-aligning bearings; wheel make not named | — | |
| Steering | Carbonautica 3Y Sport2,443 PERFORMANCE and Performance pack (2023–2024): black carbon wheel, 800 mm, with cover | — |
Specifications
| Versions | NEEL 43: 3 cabins, from 2021, with Premium and Performance equipment packs · NEEL 43 PERFORMANCE: limited edition of 10 boats announced in July 2023, with carbon mast, textile rigging, Karver winches and furlers, Proradial sails, carbon structural bulkheads, NKE electronics and a Carbonautica wheel; the April 2024 price list offers the same content as the Performance pack · NEEL 43 DUO: announced in January 2025, same hull, the forward cabin in the central hull replaced by a second bathroom and storage, 2 cabins6,7,2,8 |
|---|---|
| Years built | Presented in summer 2020; first boat christened in La Rochelle on 8 April 2021; still in the range in 2026, the 43 DUO added in January 202510,11,1,8 |
| Hulls built | No total published by NEEL: 10 delivered and 24 on order at the end of August 2021; NEEL’s build sheet of March 2024 is for hull no. 5612,4 |
| Builder | NEEL-TRIMARANS, La Rochelle, France, in two factories added on the Plateau nautique for the NEEL 43 and composite parts at the end of 202013 |
| Designer | Marc Lombard Yacht Design Group (naval architecture); concept and interior: NEEL-TRIMARANS design office1,14 |
| Length overall | 12.90 m (43 ft); NEEL’s July 2020 press release gave 42.70 ft14,1,10 |
| Beam | 7.40 m (24.60 ft)14,1,15 |
| Draft | 1.50 m (4.95 ft); the July 2020 press release gave 4.5 ft14,1,10 |
| Displacement | 9 t light; load capacity 3 t14,9,10 |
| Sail area | Mainsail 58.60 m² + genoa 43.40 m² = 102 m² upwind; options: removable staysail 18 m², gennaker 94 m² (aluminium mast) or 101 m² (carbon mast), asymmetric spinnaker 150 m² for the carbon mast (for the aluminium mast the April 2024 list says 128 m² in French and 150 m² in English)14,2 |
| Mainsail | 58.60 m², full-batten square top on ball-bearing cars (brochures and model page); April 2024 list: 57 m² Dacron with 2 reefs (Premium pack) or 61 m² grey Proradial with 3 reefs (Performance pack)14,9,2 |
| Genoa | 43.40 m² on a furler (brochures, model page); 43 m² Dacron or grey Proradial on the April 2024 list14,2 |
| Air draft | 19.00 m (62 ft) with the standard aluminium mast and boom; the PERFORMANCE edition and Performance pack have a carbon mast with aluminium boom and Dyneema shrouds (air draft not given separately)14,1,2 |
| Engine | 1 × Volvo Penta 50 hp diesel with saildrive1,14,2 |
| Fuel tank | 300 l (80 US gal)14,1 |
| Water tank | 500 l (132 US gal)14,1 |
| Holding tank | Part of the Premium pack (2021 and 2024 documents); capacity not stated5,2 |
| Cabins | 3: owner’s cabin on deck level, guest cabin forward in the central hull and a double berth in the port float (open to the saloon; glass partition optional from the 2022 brochure); optional 4th and 5th cabins in the float bows; 1 bathroom · 43 DUO: 2 cabins and 2 bathrooms2,9,16,8 |
| Berths | Up to 10, with the saloon converted into a double and the two optional single berths in the float bows · 43 DUO: up to 89,8 |
| Hull | Vacuum-infused composite sandwich with PVC and PET foam cores (no balsa) and carbon reinforcement; hull gelcoat light grey RAL 7047 as standard, RAL 9003 from hull no. 50 (build sheet)10,2,4 |
| CE category | Not stated by the builder: NEEL’s pages and brochures only name ICNN as the notified body for the CE certification14,1 |
Good to know
- Ask the seller for the boat’s original order definition. On a NEEL 43 much of what feels standard (electric windlass, holding tank, bow thruster, 230 V network and inverter-charger, LED lights, rigid cockpit roof, electronics) came in the Premium pack, and the carbon rig, Karver hardware and NKE or Garmin electronics in the Performance pack. NEEL publishes the definition of hull no. 2 as an example.5,2
- The electronics brand changed over the years: hull no. 2 (2021) has a B&G Triton2 system with B&G pilot, the 2023/24 build sheet offers B&G Zeus 3S or an NKE pack, and the April 2024 price list a Garmin pack with a Reactor 40 pilot. Check which system is aboard before buying pilot drives, sensors or displays.5,4,2
- Gelcoat colour matters for repairs: the standard hull gelcoat is light grey RAL 7047, while NEEL’s build sheet notes RAL 9003 from hull no. 50 onwards.4,2
- The single rudder is steered by Vectran lines over ball-bearing blocks: lines and blocks wear, so check them at every survey and before a long passage.9
- Boats built for 60 Hz (US) have a different electrical system: 110 V outlets and water heater, 50 A or 32 A shore power, their own inverter-charger and a 110 V generator option. Say 50 or 60 Hz when ordering electrical spares.4,2
- NEEL publishes no owner’s manual online. The owners’ platform it launched in 2021 no longer answered in October 2026, so ask the yard in La Rochelle directly for your boat’s documentation.17
On the marketplace
Looking for a part for the NEEL 43? Post a wanted ad in the app — it is free, it sits on the live map, and boaters nearby who have the part aboard can answer.
Got spares you no longer need? List them in a minute. No commission, ever.
Sources
- neel-trimarans.com/range/neel-43/
- neel-trimarans.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/07/43-56-Definition-au-Tarif-Avril-2024.pdf
- web.archive.org/web/20200807184713/https://www.neel-trimarans.com/fr/gamme/neel-43/
- neel-trimarans.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/07/43-56-Fiche-de-Fabrication.pdf
- neel-trimarans.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/NEEL-43-02-Definition-au-Tarif.pdf
- neel-trimarans-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/NEW-NEEL-43-PERFORMANCE-EN.pdf
- web.archive.org/web/20230922151152/https://www.neel-trimarans.com/the-neel-43-performance…
- neel-trimarans.com/discover-the-new-neel-43-duo/
- neel-trimarans.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/neel_43_web.pdf
- neel-trimarans-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/PRESS-RELEASE-II-NEEL-43-.pdf
- neel-trimarans.com/yannick-bestaven-winner-of-the-2020-2021-vendee-globe-godfather-of-the…
- neel-trimarans-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/PRESS-PACK-SEPTEMBER-2021.pdf
- neel-trimarans-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/COMMUNIQUE-DE-PRESSE-SEPT-2020-EN.pdf
- neel-trimarans.com/fr/gamme/neel-43/
- neel-trimarans.com/range/neel-43-duo/
- neel-trimarans.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/NEEL-43v3-page-a-page.pdf
- neel-trimarans.com/launch-of-the-neel-owners-community/
NEEL Trimarans is a trademark of its owner; boatparts.app is not affiliated with it. Part numbers are quoted for identification only. Spotted an error? Write to mail@boatparts.app.