Bavaria · Sailing yacht
Bavaria 46
Bavaria Yachtbau of Giebelstadt, Germany, has used the name for two different sailing yachts, and this page covers both. The 46 Cruiser was on Bavaria’s site from 2004 until the 47 Cruiser replaced it at the end of 2008: 14.40 m long with a single rudder, credited by the US importer to J & J Design, and fitted with a Volvo Penta D2-55 saildrive in Europe and the D2-75 in the US. The Cruiser 46 launched in 2013 is a new boat by Farr Yacht Design with a 13.60 m hull, twin rudders, three heads and a forward cabin that splits into two; it has the D2-55 on the 2013–2017 documents and the D2-50 from 2019, with a Style version from 2016 and a sportier look for 2020. Hulls, rigs, tanks and engines differ, so check which boat you have before ordering parts.
Manuals & documents
The links go to Bavaria’s own documents — some as archived copies of pages the maker has since taken down. We host no manuals or drawings.
- 46 Cruiser: standard specification, first list of 2004 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: technical data, 2006 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: standard specification, 2006 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: optional equipment, 2006 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: technical data, 2008 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: standard equipment, 2008 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- 46 Cruiser: optional equipment, 2008 (German) Spec sheet web.archive.org · DE
- Bavaria 46 Cruiser brochure with specifications and standard equipment, 2005 (US importer, Bavaria Yachts USA) Brochure web.archive.org · PDF · EN
- 46 Cruiser model page with specifications and equipment list, 2007 (US importer, Bavaria Yachts USA) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria 46 Cruiser brochure, 2009 (US importer, Bavaria Yachts USA) Brochure web.archive.org · PDF · EN
- The new Bavaria Cruiser 46: launch news with designers and technical data, July 2013 Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser 46: technical data, 2013 Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser 46: standard specification, exterior (2013) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser 46: standard specification, interior (2013) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser 46: standard specification – water, engine, electrics, certification (2013) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser Line brochure 2014 (56, 51, 46, 41, 41 S, 37, 33) with Cruiser 46 data and sail plan Brochure web.archive.org · PDF · EN
- The new Cruiser 46 Style: brochure with preliminary technical data (2016) Brochure web.archive.org · PDF · EN
- Cruiser 46 Style: standard equipment and technical data, 2017 (imperial units) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Cruiser 46: equipment and technical data, 2019 (imperial units) Spec sheet web.archive.org · EN
- Cruiser 46: technical data and options (current page) Spec sheet bavariayachts.com · EN
- Bavaria Cruiser Line brochure, 2020 line (Cruiser 34, 37, 46; German and English) Brochure bavariayachts.com · PDF · EN
- BAVARIA YACHTS downloads: brochures of the current range only, no owner’s manuals Manual portal bavariayachts.com · EN
- BAVARIA YACHTS original spare parts: via SVB or a dealer, with the hull number Manual portal bavariayachts.com · EN
Equipment & its manuals
Standard equipment as the builder’s documents list it. Boats were ordered with options and refitted since — check what is actually aboard.
| Item | Model | Manual / page | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engine | Volvo Penta D2-551,2,3,4,5,646 Cruiser, European boats of 2004–2008, and Cruiser 46, documents of 2013–2017: standard, with saildrive | Volvo Penta D2-55 Parts & service page | Bavaria’s lists give 41 kW / 55 hp; the 2008 pages of the 46 Cruiser print 39 kW / 53 hp, which Volvo’s manual gives as the power at the propeller shaft. Two-circuit cooling with sea-water filter, hour meter and rev counter as standard. |
| Engine | Volvo Penta D2-757,8,9,1046 Cruiser: standard on US boats (US importer, Bavaria Yachts USA, 2005–2009); in Europe an option instead of the D2-55, 55 kW / 75 hp (2008 list: 53 kW / 72 hp), with saildrive | Volvo Penta operator’s manual D2-55, D2-75 (D2-55 C / D2-75 A edition) | The four-blade folding propeller on the 2008 option list was only available with this engine. |
| Engine | Volvo Penta D2-5011,12Cruiser 46, from the 2019 equipment page and on the 2020 line: standard, 37.5 kW / 51 hp, with saildrive | Volvo Penta operator’s manual D2 (D2-50F, D2-60F, D2-75F) | Bavaria writes only ‘D2-50’; take the exact version from the engine plate before ordering parts. |
| Saildrive | Volvo Penta2,4,6Both boats: Bavaria writes only ‘with saildrive’ and never names the drive model | — | Read the plate on the drive leg before ordering seals, anodes or a propeller: Volvo’s manual for the D2-55 and D2-75 covers both the 130S and the 150S drive. |
| Propeller | —3,846 Cruiser: fixed propeller as standard; a three-blade folding propeller at extra cost, a four-blade one only with the D2-75 (2008 option list); makes not named | — | |
| Winches | 2 + 2 ST1,2,3,846 Cruiser, Bavaria’s German lists 2004–2008: 2 two-speed self-tailing halyard winches and 2 two-speed self-tailing genoa winches, 2 handles; make not named | — | Electric two-speed genoa winches and two-speed self-tailing spinnaker winches were options. |
| Winches | Lewmar · Harken9,1346 Cruiser, US boats: 2 self-tailing two-speed halyard winches and 2 genoa winches; Lewmar in the importer’s 2005 brochure, Harken on its 2007 model page; sizes not stated | — | The make comes from the US importer’s brochure and web page (Bavaria Yachts USA), not from Bavaria’s German lists, and the 2007 page says its list includes items that were not factory standard. Check the winches on the boat. |
| Winches | Lewmar EVO 45 ST × 2 · EVO 50 ST × 214,5Cruiser 46, 2013 specification and the 2017 list for the Style: 2 aluminium halyard winches size 45 and 2 genoa winches size 50, two-speed, self-tailing | Lewmar Ocean & EVO winches Parts & service page | The 2017 list (Style) describes the size-45 halyard winches as single-speed. |
| Windlass | —1,2,3,746 Cruiser, 2004–2008 lists: electric windlass, make not named | — | Options on the 2006 list: a 22 kg galvanised plough anchor locked in the bow fitting and 50 m of 10 mm galvanised chain. |
| Windlass | —5,14Cruiser 46, 2017 list (Style): electric windlass with remote control, make not named | — | The 2013 specification lists only a bow fitting with anchor roller. |
| Toilet | —1,2,7,3,946 Cruiser: 2 manual pump toilets; a holding tank on the aft toilet only on the 2004 list, on both from the 2006 list; make not named | — | Emptied through a seacock; deck suction was an option in 2006 and is standard from the 2008 list. US boats: holding tank with deck pump-out and overboard discharge, sump pump for the showers. |
| Toilet | —15,5Cruiser 46: a pump toilet with holding tank in each of the 3 heads, emptied through a seacock and deck suction; the 2017 list (Style) gives a large 38 cm bowl; make not named | — | |
| Instruments | Raymarine ST60 Tridata1,246 Cruiser, 2004 and 2006 lists: log, depth and speed, with compass; a wind instrument joined on the 2006 list | Raymarine ST60 Tridata owner’s handbook | Bavaria’s German lists name the wind instrument only as ‘Windmessanlage’; the 2008 list has the ST60 Plus. |
| Instruments | Raymarine ST60 Wind9,1046 Cruiser, US boats: named in the importer’s brochures of 2005 and 2009 (Bavaria Yachts USA) | Raymarine ST60 Wind and Close-Hauled Wind owner’s handbook | |
| Instruments | Raymarine ST60 Plus Tridata346 Cruiser, 2008 list: log, depth and speed, with compass and wind instrument | Raymarine ST60+ Tridata owner’s handbook | |
| Autopilot | Raymarine ST6001746 Cruiser, 2006 option list | Raymarine ST6001 SmartPilot controller: operating instructions | |
| Autopilot | Raymarine ST6002846 Cruiser, 2008 option list | Raymarine ST6002 controller: operation guide | |
| Chartplotter | Raymarine C707,846 Cruiser, 2006 and 2008 option lists: chartplotter with GPS | Raymarine C-Series user reference | |
| Chartplotter | Garmin16Cruiser 46, option at the 2013 launch: the ‘Garmin 710 package’, which can be built into the cockpit console; exact unit not named | — | |
| Heater | Webasto Air Top 50007,846 Cruiser, 2006 and 2008 option lists: hot-air heater with outlets in the saloon and forward cabin, fed from the engine’s diesel tank | — | |
| Batteries | 55 Ah + 2 × 140 Ah1,2,7,946 Cruiser, 2004 and 2006 lists: one engine battery and two house batteries; the same on US boats | — | A further 140 Ah battery was an option on the 2006 list, as was an electric bow thruster (‘SP 75’, maker not named). |
| Batteries | 88 Ah + 140 Ah3,846 Cruiser, 2008 list: one engine battery and one house battery | — | A second 140 Ah house battery was an option, and the optional electric bow thruster (‘SE 80’, maker not named) was only available with it. |
| Batteries | 1 + 2 · 3 × 92 Ah AGM17,5Cruiser 46: starter battery and two house batteries (2013 specification, capacities not stated); three 92 Ah AGM house batteries on the 2017 list (Style) | — | |
| Charger | 25 Ah1,2,7,3,8,9,1046 Cruiser, 2006 and 2008 lists: charger on the 230 V shore supply, 45 Ah at extra cost; the 2004 list has none | — | Bavaria rates the chargers in Ah. US boats: 45 Ah charger and 110 V shore supply as standard (importer’s brochures). |
| Charger | 40 A17,5Cruiser 46: charger on the 230 V shore supply, rating not stated in 2013; three-output 40 A charger on the 2017 list (Style) | — | 110 V shore power at extra cost. |
| Fridge | —2,3,946 Cruiser: insulated cool box with a 12 V cooling unit plus a refrigerator, 80 l on the 2008 list; makes not named | — | US boats: icebox with 12 V refrigeration and a front-opening 12 V refrigerator. |
| Fridge | —15,5,18Cruiser 46: compressor cool box and 110 l compressor fridge (2013); a 147 l compressor cool box on the 2017 list (Style); makes not named | — | Cruiser 46 Style (2016): new stainless cool box and fridge combination, with a wine cooler or a dishwasher as a choice. |
| Stove | —2,9,15,5,1846 Cruiser: gimballed gas cooker with oven, 2 burners on US boats · Cruiser 46: two-burner stove with oven (2013 list; 2017 list for the Style); makes not named | — | The 2016 brochure of the Cruiser 46 Style announces a three-burner gas hob with oven. |
| Water pump | —2,3,17Both boats: electric pressure water pump with filter, make not named | — | |
| Water heater | —1,2,346 Cruiser: hot-water system as standard; the 2008 list heats it from the engine cooling circuit and 230 V shore power | — | |
| Water heater | 40 l5,14Cruiser 46, 2017 list (Style): boiler heated by the engine cooling circuit and shore power | — | On the 2013 specification the boiler was not standard: the cockpit shower had warm water only with the optional boiler. |
| Bilge pump | —2,3,17Both boats: one electric and one manual bilge pump, makes not named | — | |
| Furler | Seldén Furlex3,8,9,1046 Cruiser, US boats (importer’s brochures, size not stated); Bavaria’s German lists give a headsail furler without make | — | In-mast mainsail furling or a full-batten main with lazyjacks were options; US furling rigs: Seldén in-mast furling with an external drum. |
| Mast & rigging | Seldén3,8,9,1046 Cruiser: conventional rig; on US boats a double-spreader Seldén mast with Seldén boom vang and adjustable backstay (importer’s brochures) | — | Rodkick with gas strut at extra cost on the German lists. |
| Mast & rigging | —14,5Cruiser 46: sport rig with backstay adjuster, twin mainsheet system and furling jib, make not named | — | |
| Steering | —2,346 Cruiser: two pedestals with leather-covered wheels, one balanced rudder on self-aligning bearings, emergency tiller | — | |
| Steering | —14,5,18Cruiser 46: twin rudders, two pedestals with leather-covered wheels, helm seats, compass on the cockpit table, emergency tiller | — |
Specifications
| Versions | 46 Cruiser: 14.40 m, one rudder, on Bavaria’s site 2004–2008 · Cruiser 46: new Farr Yacht Design boat, 13.60 m hull, twin rudders, from the 2014 season · Cruiser 46 Style: from 2016, new galley and interior · Cruiser 46 from 2019/2020: Volvo Penta D2-50 and the sportier look of the 2020 line19,3,16,14,18,11,12 |
|---|---|
| Years built | 46 Cruiser: on Bavaria’s site from September 2004 to December 2008, gone by April 2009, when the 47 Cruiser had taken its place · Cruiser 46: launched in July 2013 for the 2014 season, still in the range in 202620,21,22,16,23 |
| Builder | Bavaria Yachtbau GmbH, Giebelstadt (Germany)19,17 |
| Designer | 46 Cruiser: J & J Design, as named by the US importer (Bavaria Yachts USA); Bavaria’s German pages name no designer · Cruiser 46: Farr Yacht Design (naval architecture) with Design Unlimited (exterior styling and interior)24,16,23 |
| Length overall | 46 Cruiser: 14.40 m (US brochure 46 ft 7 in) · Cruiser 46: 14.27 m on the 2013–2016 pages and brochures; 13.90 m, or 14.52 m with the bowsprit, on the 2020-line figures (current brochure and site)25,19,9,4,26,18,12,23 |
| Hull length | 46 Cruiser: 13.99 m (US brochure 45 ft 11 in) · Cruiser 46: 13.60 m25,19,9,4,12,23 |
| Waterline length | 46 Cruiser: 12.20 m (US brochure 40 ft) · Cruiser 46: 12.74 m (2013–2016), 12.92 m on the 2020-line figures25,19,9,4,12,23 |
| Beam | 4.35 m on both boats (US brochure 14 ft 3 in)25,19,9,4,23 |
| Draft | 46 Cruiser: approx. 1.85 m with the standard cast-iron keel, approx. 2.05 m with the optional lead deep keel (US brochures 6 ft 1 in, and 6 ft 9 in or 6 ft 10 in) · Cruiser 46: approx. 2.10 m standard, 1.73 m with the shallow keel (2013–2016); 2.18 m and 1.82 m on the 2020-line figures25,7,19,9,10,4,26,12,23 |
| Keel | 46 Cruiser: cast-iron keel as standard, lead keel with antimony as a deep keel at extra cost · Cruiser 46: cast-iron deep keel as standard, cast-iron shallow keel as an option2,7,8,14,4 |
| Displacement | 46 Cruiser: approx. 11000 kg light (US brochure 24250 lb) · Cruiser 46: approx. 12600 kg unladen (2013–2016); 12254 kg on the 2020-line figures25,19,9,4,26,12,23 |
| Ballast | 46 Cruiser: approx. 3300 kg (US brochure 7275 lb) · Cruiser 46: approx. 3490 kg (current site 3489 kg)25,19,9,4,23 |
| Sail area | 46 Cruiser: approx. 114.80 m² for the standard mainsail and furling genoa (US brochure 1268 sq ft), approx. 107.6 m² with the optional in-mast furling main · Cruiser 46: approx. 108 m² for battened main and jib (2013–2016), 107.7 m² on the current site; gennaker 150 m² (2014 brochure), 148.4 m² (current site)25,7,19,9,4,26,23 |
| Mainsail | 46 Cruiser: Bavaria’s lists give only the total with the genoa · Cruiser 46: 56 m² (2014 brochure); current site 56.0 m² standard, 47.0 m² furling25,19,26,23 |
| Genoa | 46 Cruiser: Bavaria’s lists give only the total with the mainsail · Cruiser 46: foresail (jib) 51 m² (2014 brochure), 51.7 m² on the current site25,19,26,23 |
| Air draft | 46 Cruiser: approx. 19.20 m above the waterline (US brochure 63 ft) · Cruiser 46: approx. 20.75 m (2013–2016), 21.20 m on the 2020-line figures; an Intracoastal Waterway rig was an option, approx. 63.5 ft in the 2016 Style brochure and 63 ft 5 in on the 2019 page25,19,9,4,18,11,12,23 |
| Headroom | 46 Cruiser: approx. 2.01 m in the saloon (2008 page) · Cruiser 46: approx. 2.05 m19,4,12 |
| Engine | 46 Cruiser: Volvo Penta D2-55 with saildrive, 41 kW / 55 hp (2004 and 2006 lists; the 2008 pages print 39 kW / 53 hp, Volvo’s propeller-shaft rating), or at extra cost the D2-75, 55 kW / 75 hp (2008: 53 kW / 72 hp); US boats: D2-75, 75 hp, as standard · Cruiser 46: Volvo Penta D2-55 with saildrive, 41 kW / 55 hp (2013–2017); D2-50, 37.5 kW / 51 hp, from the 2019 page and on the 2020 line1,25,7,19,8,9,10,4,5,11,12,6 |
| Fuel tank | 46 Cruiser: approx. 210 l (US brochure 55 gal) · Cruiser 46: approx. 210 l from the 2013 pages to the current brochure; the current data page shows 180 l25,19,9,4,26,12,23 |
| Water tank | 46 Cruiser: approx. 460 l (US brochure 120 gal) · Cruiser 46: approx. 360 l (2013–2016), 350 l on the 2020-line figures25,19,9,4,12,23 |
| Holding tank | 46 Cruiser: on the 2004 list only the aft toilet has a holding tank, from the 2006 list each of the two toilets has one; capacity not stated; emptied through a seacock, deck suction an option in 2006 and standard from 2008; US boats with deck pump-out · Cruiser 46: a holding tank for each toilet, emptied through a seacock and deck suction1,2,7,3,9,15,5 |
| Cabins | 46 Cruiser: 3 or 4, with 2 heads; the 3-cabin version has a separate shower stall forward · Cruiser 46: 3 or 4, with 3 heads; a movable bulkhead splits the large forward cabin into two2,3,26,27,5 |
| Berths | 46 Cruiser: 6 with 3 cabins or 8 with 4 cabins, plus the saloon · Cruiser 46: 6 with 3 cabins or 8 with 4 cabins2,3,26,5 |
| Hull | 46 Cruiser, as the US importer (Bavaria Yachts USA) describes it: hand-laid GRP, solid below the waterline, foam-cored above it and in the deck, Kevlar in the bow sections, structural grid bonded and laminated to the hull9,10 |
| CE category | Cruiser 46: A (2013 specification), A for 10 persons in the 2014 brochure; A and B on the 2017 list (Style); A10 / B16 on the current site · 46 Cruiser: not stated on Bavaria’s pages17,26,5,23 |
Good to know
- Two different boats carry the name. The 46 Cruiser (2004–2008) has a 13.99 m hull, one rudder and a 460 l water tank; the Cruiser 46 (from 2013) has a 13.60 m hull, twin rudders and a 360 l or 350 l tank. Check the year and count the rudders before you order steering, keel or tank parts.19,3,4,14,12
- Read the engine plate first: European 46 Cruisers have the Volvo Penta D2-55 (the D2-75 cost extra), US boats the D2-75, and the Cruiser 46 the D2-55 on the 2013–2017 documents and the D2-50 from 2019. Where Bavaria’s 2008 pages print 39 kW / 53 PS and 53 kW / 72 PS, they quote Volvo’s power at the propeller shaft, not a different engine.2,7,19,8,10,4,5,11,6
- Bavaria never names the saildrive model, and Volvo’s manual for these engines covers both the 130S and the 150S drive. Read the plate on the drive leg before you buy seals, anodes or a propeller.2,4,6
- The late 46 Cruiser left the yard with small electrics: the 2008 list has one 140 Ah house battery and an 88 Ah starter battery, the earlier lists two 140 Ah house batteries, and the standard charger is rated 25 Ah (45 Ah at extra cost; the 2004 list has none at all). Expect a used boat to need an upgrade, or to have had one.1,2,7,3,8
- On the 2004 list only the aft toilet has a holding tank, and on the 2004 and 2006 lists the tanks empty only through a seacock as standard; deck suction was an option in 2006 and is standard from the 2008 list. Look for a deck pump-out fitting if you sail where overboard discharge is banned.1,2,7,3
- The Raymarine ST6001 or ST6002 autopilot, the C70 plotter, the Webasto Air Top 5000 heater, the bow thruster, electric genoa winches and the D2-75 were options on the 46 Cruiser, so don’t assume a used boat has them.7,8
On the marketplace
Looking for a part for the Bavaria 46? Post a wanted ad in the app — it is free, it sits on the live map, and boaters nearby who have the part aboard can answer.
Got spares you no longer need? List them in a minute. No commission, ever.
Sources
- web.archive.org/web/20040905113244/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/bavaria.php?nav=boo…
- web.archive.org/web/20060225004650/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/bavaria.php?nav=boo…
- web.archive.org/web/20080608064805/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/index.php?id=782
- web.archive.org/web/20130713010541/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/en/sailing-yachts/c…
- web.archive.org/web/20170201030241/http://www.bavariayachts.com:80/en-uk/sailing-yachts/c…
- pubs.volvopenta.com/publications/7745858
- web.archive.org/web/20060225004656/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/bavaria.php?nav=boo…
- web.archive.org/web/20080607172325/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/index.php?id=781
- web.archive.org/web/20051212093754/http://www.bavariayachts.com:80/bavaria46/PDF/brochure…
- web.archive.org/web/20090521014002/http://www.bavariayachts.com:80/files/46CruiserBrochur…
- web.archive.org/web/20190917032658/https://www.bavariayachts.com/sailing-yachts/cruiser-4…
- bavariayachts.com/fileadmin/media/global/service/downloads/brochures/sailingyachts/bavari…
- web.archive.org/web/20071117085640/http://www.bavariayachts.com:80/go/cruiser-series/46-c…
- web.archive.org/web/20130710060410/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/en/sailing-yachts/c…
- web.archive.org/web/20130713004710/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/en/sailing-yachts/c…
- web.archive.org/web/20130901094516/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com/en/shipyard/news/news/…
- web.archive.org/web/20130713004714/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/en/sailing-yachts/c…
- web.archive.org/web/20160410070849/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com/fileadmin/Template/Pub…
- web.archive.org/web/20080607173258/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/index.php?id=783
- web.archive.org/web/20040902045213/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/bavaria.php?nav=boo…
- web.archive.org/web/20081219005300/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/index.php?id=470
- web.archive.org/web/20090411120107/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/index.php?id=470
- bavariayachts.com/sailing-yachts/cruiser-46/data-and-options/
- web.archive.org/web/20051212112303/http://www.bavariayachts.com:80/PDF/news_bavaria46crui…
- web.archive.org/web/20060225004644/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com:80/bavaria.php?nav=boo…
- web.archive.org/web/20140629155140/http://www.bavaria-yachtbau.com/fileadmin/Template/Pub…
- bavariayachts.com/sailing-yachts/cruiser-46/highlights/
Bavaria is a trademark of its owner; boatparts.app is not affiliated with it. Part numbers are quoted for identification only. Spotted an error? Write to mail@boatparts.app.